London (change)
Today °C / °C
Tomorrow °C / °C
19 messages
03/11/2013 at 08:38
Hi there, I'm looking for a little advice since I'm very new to all things gardening! I'm having my garden fenced in. Yesterday the builder dropped off the wood for me to start staining. Only problem is that most of it is black with a white mould on it. It's soaking wet also. My builder is a bit of a nightmare, but that's another story, but he assures me the wood is pressure treated and says I'm being ridiculous to expect clean wood. So I have a few questions I hoped you can help me with... firstly, is this wood okay to use? Is it normal to have black mouldy wood from the timber merchant? Secondly, how do I get rid of it? Will it come good if I pressure wash it? How long does the wood need to dry out? I live in Scotland so it could be many months until I see a sunny day, but generally speaking how long would i need to allow for a fence wood to dry out? It's a water based stain so does the wood need to be bone dry? Thank you in advance for your help.
03/11/2013 at 08:51

Sounds like its been left to get damp for awhile and isn't treated.  I would ask for new panels, they're not cheap are they. Fence panels usually need another coat of preserver aswell tho. I would say wood does need to be dry.

03/11/2013 at 08:55

I would reject it and ask for it to be replaced.

03/11/2013 at 08:59

It shouldn't be mouldy if it's been pressure treated. If it's gone black then it's stained and may show through your wood stain. I would reject it too.

KEF
03/11/2013 at 09:04

My panelling is old and now rotting a bit, but it's never been black or had mould on it. I can't see how it can have been pressure treated. I agree reject it.

03/11/2013 at 09:07