Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Will my daffs come through if I lay gravel or slate around my shrubs?

Hi everyone, this is my first time on the forum so pleae bear with me. I have lots of bulbs laid in front garden and am putting house up for sale so was going to lay some gravel or slate around my shrubs over winter so the area looked tidy, but I would really like the bubls to still come up in spring. Does anyone have any experience of whether they will work their way through. Many thanks for any help or advice.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

Bulbs will find their way through gravel and small slate chippings.  However slate and gravel laid on bare soil can be a real nuisance later on - in my opinion composted bark or bark chippings might be better (and much cheaper) - just make sure you give the shrubs space around their trunks. image

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• Many thanks for your advice. I have used bark in the past but I have such a slug problem that it tends to cause more problems further along the line into spring when other plants are comiing up, that was the only reason I was thinking of some type of gravel.

• I laid gravel on top of a tarpaulin at our new house and was surprised to find a row of daffs poking through the following spring. 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

I'd rather tackle slugs than try and get gravel out of a border where I didn't want it - I really would - total pain in the neck - but of course you're hoping to have moved on by then so whether it's slugs or gravel you leave behind is up to you image

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• Matty2Matty2 Posts: 4,817