Start a new thread

1 to 17 of 17 replies

I have never used a forum before, having spent my life getting information from printed books, but why is there no equivalent to a book's index in the form of a FAQ section? It seems to me it would save a lot of repetition. Sometimes people ask virtually the same question in the same day.

Its not easy finding subjects covered alredy.

There's no need of a FAQ section is there?  The questions come in or the comments do as and when they occur.  Also a "newby" has a personal answer to his or her question and we get to know that person that way. It doesn't really matter if a question is repeated.  They're not being asked for the sake of it.  Besides, someone different may answer with a slightly different perspective. I dont mind of a question is duplicated.  The answers come in the form of conversation.  this is an informal spontaneous forum.....don't like the idea of a reference section. Sorry Waterbutts.

There's a 'How to.... section which I found helpful when first joining.

I don't think there's a need for a FAQ section either, it's good to talk, share knowledge and idea's even if Q's are sometimes repeated.

also the search option brings up forum questions - the ultimate index

I agree with Verdun.  

Right. Message received and understood.

By the way, ifanyone has been wondering where they can find a Patek Philippe watch for somene's birthday they can just put "faqs" into Search and they will find a load of people wantng to help.

Because I'm daft I put fags into search and didn't find a watch...I'll keep using the sundial.   I'll get my coat.

If you put fags in you should get Cannabis sativa surely?

Kef, you have missed your vocation. Should be on the stage.

I put fags in and got something altogether different.....

Stop it you two!!! I'll be sitting here all day at this rate.

I agree TT, the boggles, but if it raises a smile I'm there