Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Acer

We bought this Acer a few months ago,planted it in  Ericacious Compost in a pot.It was beautiful.Now it looks like its dying....leaves are turning brown & look dry,even though compost is damp and it has been watered regularly through the dry spells.

What have we done wrong ?? 

• Lupin 1Lupin 1 Posts: 8,916

I didn't think acers needed ericacious compost. John Innes No2 I would have thought & they don't like having wet feet especially when in pots. But I'm no expert.

• Tropical SamTropical Sam Posts: 1,488

They need a sheltered spot - I wonder if the leaves are suffering wind burn. If the soil is damp and the leaves browning and look dry then it sounds like wind damage.

They need well draining soil. There are a large variety of Acers and all prefer but do not need acidic soil as KEF has said. If the pot is waterlogged then you tend to also get branch dieback, though wind damage can also induce that.

I would check drainage and make sure your Acer is in a sheltered spot. It should put out new leaves in early spring.

• SingySingy Posts: 206

Most of my acers in pots have started to drop leaves, one in fact is almost bare, i dont think there are any problems and the well established ones at my parents look much the same.

• I think there is a virus affecting acers this year.   One of mine has died as have two acers of various friends.  I bought another recently and this ia already developing white tinges to the end of the leaves and I think it is on the way out.   Can anyone actually explain what this virus is and is there a cure?

• Lupin 1Lupin 1 Posts: 8,916

Moved this back up for Sarahsgarden to find.

• We were told to put it in ericaceous compost at the garden centre,so am very confused now!! shall we put it in John Innes 2 now or wait until Spring ?

• Tropical SamTropical Sam Posts: 1,488