Start a new thread

1 to 13 of 13 replies

Hi, I have made a trellis for our fence hoping to get some of my new plants to attach themselves to it. My concern, although a bit late now, can a trellis be too thick? This one is made out of 50mm x 25mm roofing timbers.

The plants are...

Solanum Laxum 'Album' which I think is on steroids, gone crazy already!

Sollya Heterophylla

Clematis Montana Var. Rubens

Clematis Apple Blossom.

The 2 clematis are new so have not progressed much yet but as I said the Solanum Laxum has grown really fast.

The Sollya Heterophylla looks ok but has not grown one bit so I have put this in a pot as I don't really know what to do with it...

Oh I am very new to all this green fingered lark so forgive me if I have done anything stupid or got the name wrong.

Thanks

Well Scott, you have got yourself a trellis and a half there. I can tell you one thing, it's not going to collapse under the weight of the plants.

The clematis montana will cover it even though the spars are a bit thick for the leaf stalks to grip. You can't keep a good montana down.

Not sure about the other plants though.

That must mean you have seen a pic of my trellis???? I tried to upload it but the site said there was a problem, On my screen my post is showing no picture so apologies if it has uploaded several times.

Would you put some form of netting over the trellis?

Just how big is the trellis? I mean, the montana alone could cover a garage, as one is doing in my garden.

nutcutlet

Solanum and sollya don't cling, you'll have to weave them in so the size won't matter. Anything a montana can do, Apple Blossom (assuming the clematis) can do as well.

You'll have to watch the sollya, not so competative.

waterbutts says a montana can cover a garage, I'd save that's underestimating it. Ditto armandii (apple blossom)

Advertisement

waterbutts wrote (see)

Just how big is the trellis? I mean, the montana alone could cover a garage, as one is doing in my garden.