Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Cold frames and greenhouses

Hello,

This is my very first time posting a question and I have seen some other posts related to my query on here. Basically I'm very new to gardening and I'm wondering what the difference is between a coldframe and a greenhouse. Or maybe there is no difference, it's just down to personal preference? I would like something to put seeds out over the winter, as I have little space in the house. I also have limited psace in the garden so need something comact. Your advice would be greatly received.

Thanks image

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Tropical SamTropical Sam Posts: 1,488

I suppose the difference between a coldframe and greenhouse is that you can walk into a greenhouse. There is no temperature difference between a coldframe and cold greenhouse unless you use a heater in a greenhouse to keep a certain temperature. So you generally use a coldrame for hardy plants or plants that are hardy due to being kept dry - Agave for example.

I would say a bigger killer than cold is grey mould caused by inefficient ventallation in both coldframes and greenhouses, especially on seedlings. Any sunny day, open the doors to ventillate both.

I started with coldrames and moved up into greenhouses and use both - you can use a coldframe inside a greenhouse to add a little more protection.

• Lupin 1Lupin 1 Posts: 8,916

GG26 If you can get a GH I would. I've never had a cold frame, but I might need one this spring as I'll have more than I can accomodate in the GH.  

• Zoomer44Zoomer44 Posts: 3,267

Hi, Garden Girl,

I've oftern thought what was the difference and like you have limited space, from advise given there's little difference and in part it's about personnal preference.