Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Dystopian Garden Sculpture

I am an art student, in my final year at Goldsmiths University of London. 

I am trying to create a conceptual sculpture based on dystopian ideas, using horticultural methods and materials.    I need help in my research as to what plants, help to destroy an eco-system.  Within the eco-sculpture there will be a mound of moss, and buckwheat grass. A dead tree, a pond filled with water ferns (which I am aware take the oxygen out of the water, allowing nothing else to thrive in it - if I can somehow find some.)     I am incorporating into the sculpture some plants that I overwatered.    Any advice would be extremely helpful. 

• Hi Sorcha - a couple of artists/gardeners here image

Not sure about the dead tree - dead trees create their own very rich eco-systems providing habitats and nutrition for invertebrates.....  of course, while a dead tree is a frequently-used trope when addressing dystopia, I believe that dystopia can be a very subjective concept .......

but it's all a interesting idea - a couple of things come to mind ...

Consider using peat-based potting compost - the harvesting of the peat is destroying habitat-rich peat bogs in northern Europe.

Have a look at the history of the 'rock garden' in the UK -  http://www.limestone-pavements.org.uk/gardeners.html .  The need for rock to make rock gardens has in the past caused irrevocable damage to ancient wate-rworn limestone pavements which are one of the world's finest and most endangered habitats. 

Himalayan Balsam (an introduced species) is now causing real damage to riverbanks causing flooding and erosion http://www.worcswildlifetrust.co.uk/species/himalayan-balsam