London (change)
Today 17°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 10°C
1 to 20 of 24 messages
19/02/2014 at 10:17

Hi ! 

I am a first time gardener and have been given some hanging baskets by my friend. 

I have been told how to correctly set up the baskets and they are ready for me to choose my flowers and plants and put them in my new garden... however I need some advise on what to choose

I would love the flowers to be as colorful as possible and to live happily in my garden throughout the spring and summer. 

As I am a beginner I would like them to be easy to maintain but beautiful to look at! 

My garden gets sunshine throughout most of the day...

All advise is greatly appreciated 

19/02/2014 at 10:20

Hi Saff Brum put some great pics up on baskets last week ava look they are really good,

19/02/2014 at 10:24

Will do, thanks Alan 

19/02/2014 at 11:34

Saffron, have a look on here. You will find a great selection of books new and used on hanging baskets. I have the one from the RHS with excellent information!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_8?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=hanging+baskets&sprefix=hanging+%2Cstripbooks%2C264

19/02/2014 at 13:27

Thanks so much Sue, 

Had not even thought of that ! 

19/02/2014 at 16:08

hi everyone, my local aldi are selling hanging baskets with tomatoes to grow in them, is this a good idea before i buy one ?  thanks

19/02/2014 at 16:37

That sounds like a good idea Jill...lets wait to hear back from a professional !

How much are they selling them for ?

19/02/2014 at 18:54

Hello.  I grew Tumbling Tom last year in a hanging basket. It was great from a novelty point of view but did not produce much fruit unfortunately.  

19/02/2014 at 18:59

In terms of hanging baskets I always grow Trailing Lobelia, Geraniums, Fuchsias, and Petunia surfinia.  

19/02/2014 at 19:01