London (change)
Today 9°C / 6°C
Tomorrow 9°C / 7°C
18 messages
24/04/2014 at 10:50

I've been gardening professionally for nine years and always pruned Fuchsias to ground or near ground level at the end of April, this year I've been told by one of my customers not to prune them because they have so much new growth on top.

Any feedback from others with greater experience than myself of previous mild winters where this has occurred and what the outcome may have been appreciated.

Please all feel free to comment, the more the merrier.

24/04/2014 at 12:13

It is perfectly acceptable not to prune fuschias if they have retained their top growth. Force of habit means I have done mine even though many of them kept their leavs throughout winter.

24/04/2014 at 12:40

Toady.....I agree with the doc. I prune mine every year too but not through force of habit.  Even with top growth on fuschias just look better and flower better if pruned hard every year.  Down here fuschias are everywhere as large, almost tree like, specimens but when too big they look ungainly and woody.  

They are so easy and quick to prune annually too and pruned fuschias fit in better with other plants in the border. 

24/04/2014 at 13:17

I prune to keep a nice shape but not too hard in case we have a late frost.

24/04/2014 at 13:46

I cut back most of mine March time, however I have three Hawkshead which still had lots of leaves. I decided to leave them as I wanted them too look bushier, they are newish plants about 2 years old. . Sadly a very late frost nipped them so they look very shabby. I've reluctantly decided to leave them for this year but will revert to giving them a hard haircut along with the rest in March....not out of this Spring and already talking about Spring 2015!

24/04/2014 at 17:44