Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Gardening courses

I am hoping to set up a gardening business in 18months time and am starting to plan now. I have a few years experience of hard landscaping/decking etc but no qualifications. I was wondering if anyone out there could recommend some beneficial courses I could take. They would need to be distance learning courses at present. 

• Dave MorganDave Morgan Posts: 3,123

You can learn as much theory as you like lee, but I'd get in with a good local gardener and tag along. Theory is fine but practical experience is far more valuable.

• ommthreeommthree Posts: 314

Very interesting. I'd love to do a correspondence course on something horticultural.

• agree Dave with the practical experience and thanks for the good advice Mike. I do hope to pursue gardening to the higher realms as you put it Mike. I am due to leave the military and want to purse all aspects of gardening as a business. I am very confident with the hard landscaping, design and construction of gardens having got about 5 years experience in this prior to joining the military. I do not however have any real horticulure knowledge. Have seen a few courses ( distance learning ) out there but dubious of them with there high fees. Will they actually teach me anything worth while?

• I've posted this link on another work themed thread today:  http://www.southstaffs.ac.uk/courses/horticulture/

I attended a course here, purely recreational as my chosen career took me elsewhere.....maybe there is something similar in your area.

Good luck!

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 17,617

Lee, where do you live? When you leave the military, where will you be based?

If we know this, we may be able to recommend something in your area.

• Thanks Dave k. I will be based in hampshire area fiidgetbones.

• Lizzie27Lizzie27 Posts: 12,491