Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Greenhouse learner

reiverreiver Posts: 32

As a geriatric newbie I would appreciate advice on how to make the most of my retirement gift greenhouse. Ihave been a bit trigger happy and have already planted out my seed raised plants. I have chillies,peppers , several basils,tomatoes cucumber and aubergine, all pretty well established. I would like to have a floral/foliage display on and beneath the staging. Any ideas?

My eight year old grand-daughter and I are learning as we go (Mostly from my mistakesimage). So, we would appreciate advice on what would work here in the heart of Gods country, the North East of England.image

Not sure if this the correct Topic- I am as unskilled with computers as I am with the garden.

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445

Hi reiver

The most important thing is to get a seat in the greenhouse for tea breaks and thinking. Sounds as though you're doing Ok on the plant raising side. Isn't retirement wonderful image

In the sticks near Peterborough
  • Zoomer44Zoomer44 Posts: 3,267

Wish I was you, how nice to receive a GH as a retirement gift.

You already sound knowledgable with the stuff you are growing, I can't for the life of me get basil to grow in there. How big is the GH and what type of plants do you like.   

• Woo2Woo2 Posts: 223

Hi reiver, I'm a relative newbie to gardening myself so will let the more experienced answer your question, but happy retirement and enjoy your learning, there's some great helpers on here image

• reiverreiver Posts: 32

Thanks all.

The GH is 10x6 . I have over watered and have had to rescue several trays. I do get advice from a neighbour. we stand and discuss manly things over the fenceimageimage

As I tell his wife, it's not gossip, it's the garden university.

Any way the next thing to learn is PATIENCE.!!!!

As my mum used to say