London (change)
Today 28°C / 17°C
Tomorrow 26°C / 17°C
1 to 20 of 25 messages
14/04/2014 at 10:57

Hi

I have recently taken over my aging aunts garden responsibilities. I think I may have been mowing over Japanese knotweed shoots. I have since used the same soiled mower/strimmer etc on my garden.

Is this a big mistake or can you uses the same tools mowers etc without cross contamination?

Thanks

14/04/2014 at 11:01

I have no first hand experience of JKW but I've heard that every little bit grows. But that may be just the roots, what you're mowing will be leaves. You say you think you've been mowing it. If you're not sure post a pic here to ID it. If it's in the lawn there'll be some growing away elsewhere for a photo

14/04/2014 at 11:07

Unfortunately not I will have to wait for some regrowth

14/04/2014 at 11:14

If it's JKW you won't have to wait for long 

14/04/2014 at 22:09

Unforunately Japanese Knotweed is hard to get rid of. 

There was a terrible article in the local of how stressful it can be to get rid of. 

http://www.expressandstar.com/news/crime/2014/03/31/lab-tech-killed-wife-and-himself-after-being-driven-mad-by-japanese-knotweed-problem/

One other thing I would add is that when you do work with it make SURE you wash your boots or shoes as a tiniest bit can make it spread. 

14/04/2014 at 22:29

Hi , when i used to do contract work for the local council cutting grass on garage sites, i was told not to cut any Jknotweed at all and report it. They said it can be spread from little saplings coming off the machines. I couldnt say if it true are not though to be honest 

14/04/2014 at 23:24