Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Neighbours tree

JayellJayell Posts: 2

Hi all, this is my first post so please go easy....

We have a small garden approx 10mtrs sq. The back of the garden adjoins a neighbours property, in this garden is a Eucalyptus tree, but I don't know the type. The tree trunk splits into 3 branches the smallest being approx 270mm dia. The others may be up to 350mm. The tree is at a guess 10m high with a mx canopy span of 10m.

I am concerned re the size of the tree in relation to our property, I am no expert but have been informed that these trees have a shallow root system which does spread out. There are no obvious signs of property damage as yet, but from an Insurance perspective I would need to know if these trees are an issue being so close at that size. 

The neighbour has trimmed the tree in the past, but I think that what is called for is professional surgery (on the tree - not the neighbour) image....

If I am going to broach the issue I would like to have some facts on my side other than the tree is too large. Any guidance anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated. As an aside I do like the tree, it's canopy hides the view, but I need to be realistic and not let this affect the discussion. Thanks in advance.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 34,888

the local council should have a dedicated " tree officer" I'm sure there's a fancier term , but maybe give them a call? and it'll be free advice.

Devon.
  • JayellJayell Posts: 2

Hi Pansyface and Hostafan, thanks for the information, it's a great idea, I will call them tomorrow.

• Rinus KRinus K Posts: 67

Hi Jayell.

You are allowed ( without his/her permission) to cut branches hanging over the fence on your property. But to keep the relation with your neighbor healthy you better inform him first.