London (change)
Today 14°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 17°C / 10°C
12 messages
17/12/2013 at 13:21

Hi,

I'm new to making preserves and would welcome some advice. I have made some beetroot chutney and stored it in a box in the shed, which I thought would be cool and dry. just checked it and the seals are still intact, contents look ok but mould has appeared in places on the outside of the jars. My first inclination was to chuck out the contents but then wondered if it would be safe enough just to clean down the outside of the jars and am keen to learn from others experiences.

17/12/2013 at 14:07

If the mould is on the outside then I wouldn't worry at all.  Wipe them down thoroughly - they'll be fine.  I keep mine in the garage.

Enjoy 

17/12/2013 at 17:56

Many thanks; that's a relief, I really enjoyed making them and was looking forward to eating and sharing them too!!

17/12/2013 at 18:01

It's probably condensation on the outside of the jars attracting some spores and .......... there you go 

I love making chutney and pickles, and as you say, it's lovely to share them too.  

19/12/2013 at 02:24

Just as Dove says! All of it, except I never eat mine, they ALL get given away, then I find I've none left! However, I have found that mice and rats are able to chew into many lids, although so far they have only done it to jams, never any pickles or anything with vinegar in. And as my pet rats won't eat pickles, I asume it is something that rodents don't like. Just be aware if you want to store jams and other sweet stuff!

19/12/2013 at 10:57