Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Poisonous Plants

A couple of months ago i was mooching in one of our local stores when i came across a buy 1 get 1 free Clematis deal. I was instantly attracted to the thought of getting a couple. It really did look an attractive plant in full bloom and im a sucker for a decent buy 1 get 1 free deal.

Having my mobile phone to hand, i thought to take a quick readup on it there and then.

Well i was shocked to find that this quite lovely plant had a "poisonous to cats and dogs" tag on it with quite disturbing symptoms.

I certainly didnt want my kitty being stricken with fits of vomiting or diarrhea or anyone elses for that matter, so decided against buying it.

Poisonous? Really? Im pretty sure the Clematis isnt the only garden plant labelled with such a tag (im new to this)

Are there precautionary planting measures one takes when considering such? Does anyone have accounts of pooch and pussy poisonings? Was i over cautious?

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

I think that cats and dogs (most animals really) are quite bright - if clematis presented a real danger to them cats would probably be extinct by now.

Very very occasionally a cat will do something totally daft and eat something it shouldn't - far more likely that a dog will do it, labradors see almost anything as a culinary challenge - and if the animal is then taken ill it's helpful to the vet to know what might have contributed to it, but I don't know of any cat keeping gardeners who avoid clematis.

Lilies do present a problem because if a cat gets the pollen on it's coat and then licks it off it can make it ill so my daughter does not grow lilies in her garden. 

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445