London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
1 to 20 of 29 messages
02/07/2014 at 07:34

Good Morning All....I am a newbie to the forum and just wondered if the forum has a seed swapping department.

02/07/2014 at 07:37

Hi Parkerwitton

We tend to start a new Seed Swap thread each year in the late summer .... 

02/07/2014 at 07:48
Ooo, yes please
02/07/2014 at 07:54
Could this be extended to plant swapping too?
02/07/2014 at 07:55

Plant swapping has happened 

It's important to remember that contact details should only be exchanged via the Private Message system 

02/07/2014 at 08:01
Oooo, am excited!

Where is everyone?????? Get up, get up, get up!
02/07/2014 at 10:01

I've been up for hours bekkie.

I'll post when I've got some seeds

I let the hellebores drop stupid woman, I'd got the best ones labelled with colour as well.

I'll try and do better as the season progresses

02/07/2014 at 11:26

No seeds available here yet although I shall be trying my best to contribute this year and next as I've had so much help from members setting up my first year in this garden.

02/07/2014 at 12:15

This early on in the season, I think its best if everyone interested saves seeds, labelled with variety if known, into Paper envelopes(a good use for all that junk mail) and not plastic. Then we should start listing in August. otherwise it all gets very  messy. Remember seeds have to dry off on the plant as much as possible. eg lupins are ripe when the bottom pods on the spike start to open and the seeds are black. if you collect too early the seeds will not be viable. Last year I had some green seeds sent to me in plastic, and surprise surprise, they never germinated.

Plant swapping is easiest on forum outings. i wouldn't like to send molly in a bucket through the post.

02/07/2014 at 12:17

(I must remember not to scoff the tomatoes without first saving a few seeds!!)

02/07/2014 at 12:18