London (change)
Today 21°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 23°C / 15°C
15 messages
19/09/2011 at 18:10
I'm saving seed of my perennial sweet pea to grow plants for my friends. Having collected and cleaned seeds at the botanoc garden for the seed distribution (ten packets) that Friends of the BG are entitled to, I'm a bit of an expert. Some seeds need to be kept in the fridge over winter and all have to be kept dry. If you put the seedheads head first into paper bags or large envelopes they can safely stay there till you are ready to clean them of the detritus that could harbour disease if left on till you are ready to sow. Peas and beans are easy but even they are better for letting dry on the plant and collecting on a dry day.
21/09/2011 at 13:02
Hi Mark Well done! Perhaps you could sell/swap your superfluous plants with like-minded friends or through a gardening club?
22/09/2011 at 17:53
for many years i`ve saved and dried spent plant seeds, and sometimes they come again, sometimes they don`t, but i`ve often found that keeping them in brown bags in a very dry place seems to work well, so i`ll stick to this method, it seems to work and saves you a packet. all the best for next year
23/09/2011 at 08:16
Will my sweetcorn ever ripen now? I they are big and firm but not sure how to tell when they are yellow and ready to pick. This is my first year planting them.
23/09/2011 at 09:52
Just separate the leaves round one of the cobs,jamkea, and dig in with your nails into one of kernels. A white latex should ooze out if they are perfect to eat. They may not be yellow but white, depending on the variety. At this stage you can eat them without any cooking and they are so sweet and delicious. After a day or two it is better to have them hot with butter dripping from them!
23/09/2011 at 15:59