London (change)
Today 21°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 22°C / 14°C
12 messages
26/05/2009 at 10:12
Comfrey is also very good for early nectar. Even the allegedly less invasive types have good early flowers. Another hardy annual I let seed everywhere is love in a mist which comes back year after year. Ground lilac also is good source of nectar for butterflies and bees.
26/05/2009 at 14:30
I am a absolute beginner at growing any kind of anything, my mum recently gave me some iceberg lettace to plant up, they were doing really well but now I notice the bottom leaves are going really soft and when I lifted them found little worms I have removed the leaves with the little blighters but is there anything else I should be doing.
27/05/2009 at 08:25
The poached egg plant also keeps down the weeds. I have great swathes of it in my garden and even bindweed can be defeated if you cover the ground with this very beautiful and very prolific annual.
28/05/2009 at 20:28
I keep meaning to sow this and haven't done so yet, but have lots of other flowers on the allotment: foxgloves, comfrey, wallflowers, alliums. One thing I find very helpful is keeping a gardening diary. Although, as you say, each year is different, it can be useful to look back and see what did well (or not so well).
29/05/2009 at 07:05
I have always grown French Marigolds and Poached Egg Plants as companions but 3years ago I bought a new favourite at a car boot sale. It is Nicandra, also called "Shoo Fly" and it really works! Planted in the greenhouse with my tomato plants it can grow very tall if I let it or keep it in a pot. Either way I have had no white fly etc on tomatoes or peppers and bonus is a pretty violet blue flower.
29/05/2009 at 14:06
Adam, stick to editing. What is a tagetes? All these latin names! It took me a google to discover you mean MARIGOLDS.
29/05/2009 at 14:25