London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
18 messages
07/03/2008 at 15:04
Being only in my second year of being what I like to call a 'proper' gardener (i.e. actually cultivating the earth and properly growing plants that I've chosen, rather than simply mowing the lawn and trying to keep the place tidy!), I'm also in my second year of crop rotation and in one particular bed I had garlic last year and this year I'm doing broad beans and sweetcorn but I wondered what category sweetcorn came under so I can start planning for next year (ok, maybe not actually 'planning', that's a bit too organised, but it's a question that's been bothering me for a little while now! :-) ). Does anyone know?
07/03/2008 at 20:03
i have drawn op a plan in excel, mostly together with a book about combining vegetables to reduce diseases and pests. that's a headache in itself, but i'm not sure how i'll cope next year cos some of the plants that are staying in the same spot for years/ever like strawberries and gooseberries, rosemary and some others...i do believe it's better to rotate cos of diseases etc, but i'm not sure how to... yet ;-)
13/03/2008 at 09:36
can anyone tell me anything about red champagne rhubarb please
13/03/2008 at 17:09
I'm still getting my head around this crop rotation thing, but this year I'm stealing the method outlined in my dad's royal horticultural society book. You just separate your crops into "roots", "brassicas" and "other"! Seems simple enough, right?

Unfortunately cabbage is about the only brassica I can stand, so my plot is going to be lop-sided :D

13/03/2008 at 18:06