London (change)
Today 13°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 9°C
1 to 20 of 36 messages
03/04/2009 at 11:20
Not sure why, but I am completely terrified about growing the potatoes. As you can probably gather I am new to all of this and I have never grown potatoes before. All this stuff about chitting them and growing them in bags etc. then piling up the soil around the green growth. Guess I just need to get in there and get growing.
03/04/2009 at 11:49
Tony - don't worry about it! You don't really need to chit them, some argue it increases the yield but it's not essential. If you do, here's an article on chitting potatoes. The easiest thing to do is just grow them in an old compost bag or dustbin - just pop them over roughly 10cm compost, cover with another 10cm compost, then keep topping up with compost as the leaves start poking through until you get to the top. Increase watering frequency when the potatoes start to flower, then when they've died down, your spuds should be ready!
04/04/2009 at 13:58
Try some perpetual spinach - I put a row of seeds in last year and we have been eating it all winter - also had enough to keep our 6 chickens and 2 guinee pigs going as well. You just pick the leaves and it comes back again. Other good grows last year were marrows and broad beans. Just think about what you like to eat and have a go.
04/04/2009 at 15:19
I grew potatoes in raised beds last year and har a couple of really good crops. This year I want to grow something else in the beds. Can anyone tell me what should go in after potatoes? I have some onions and garlic started off in the greenhouse but not sure if that's the right thing to put in next.
04/04/2009 at 20:33
Hi! I Made Up An Idea For Growing Vegatables And Recycling At The Same Time. Get A Pesto-Size Jar And Wrap It Up In Folded Newspaper. Tuck In The Top Of The Paper And Take The Jar Out. When You Have A Paper Cup, Fill It With Compost. Put Your Seed In And Watch It Grow!
04/04/2009 at 20:40