London (change)
Mon 17°C / 13°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 8°C
1 to 20 of 23 messages
05/08/2011 at 21:12
Due to extremely chalky soil I am growing all of my veg in containers. This is my first time growing veg, done cucumbers and sweet peppers in containers and salad leaves in a basket. Working well so far, cucumbers will be ready in a few weeks and peppers just flowering. Also started to use spent coffee beans from local shop.
05/08/2011 at 21:54
This must be why my container-planted pink fir apple potatoes haven't done very well. I only fed them twice and now they have gone yellow and keeled over without even flowering. A woeful peformance (from me I mean, not the potatoes). They suffered massive slug and snail attack too: that does seem to be a disadvantage of containers. http://www.mandysutter.com/reluctant-gardener-day-355-the-weirdness-of-the-gardeners-eye-view/
06/08/2011 at 08:57
I had the same trouble last year with pink fir apple potatoes out in the veg,. garden, Mandy, and blamed poor seed as all my other early potatoes were fine. Vine weevils love container grown plants to lay their eggs in and the grubs eat the roots so you have to be very vigilant. My best success is growing tomatoes in big pots - they do escape blight that way should it be a good year for potato blight.
06/08/2011 at 21:50
Hi Marion, as usual you're a mine of info! Thanks.
06/08/2011 at 22:48
Can someone tell me if carrot leaves are edible please? I have a pot full of leaves but there is not enough room for the carrots to grow so I need to thin them out and am loath to throw them onto the compost, if I can eat them...thanx to anyone who can reply.
07/08/2011 at 08:44
I haven't grown any veg in containers this year, mine are all in raised beds, but my beetroots are just the best. I have never had such good beetroots they are just wonderful. In fact everything this year is growing so well. I did grow carrots in containers last year and they were just lovely and grew really well.