London (change)
Today 14°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 10°C
1 to 20 of 29 messages
02/08/2008 at 11:25
Oh yes, I did harvest the first potatoes and they tasted wonderful. I want to conserve the small ones for next year. The problem we faced last year was that most of the potatoes dried out or rotted away. Now I want to keep them in sawdust, in our basement which is cool. Is that a good idea? reinier van der Leij
03/08/2008 at 10:33
This is my first year of growing potatoes. I took advantage of a special offer in the magazine a few months back for 3 patio planters and 3 varieties of seed potatoes, and I'm pleased to say it's proving to be a success! Going to plant more and more and more! Thanks to everyone at GW magazine, website, etc, for all the good advice!
03/08/2008 at 20:25
I have a good yield of Rocket earlies and still have quite a few to be lifted. How long will they keep in store? I have a lovely cool cellar and have had success storing lates but have not tried with earlies before.
03/08/2008 at 23:03
Hi first year planting potato's this year. Small/first crop. I'm digging them up as i want them. I was told that i can dig up the potato's as soon as the flowers die away. which i am doing. Beautiful flowery potato's. You talk of Storing, how do i do this?
04/08/2008 at 11:50
I have grown potatoes for the first time and have loads of foliage, but help! How do I know when to harvest them?
04/08/2008 at 23:27
Hi Im a first year potato grower and some of my haulms have rotted at the base and flopped is this because of the wet weather help before anymore do it or what course of action should I take at present when one flops I pull the haulm out and dig up the potatoes is this correct I would be very grateful if someone can help with this cheers John
05/08/2008 at 10:27