London (change)
Today 10°C / 5°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 10°C
14 messages
24/11/2011 at 15:27
brilliant info as i have just taken up gardening seriously.Always done gardening but t the age of 48 i want more than just yearly plants.
I am new to gardening, we have just move from a flat to a house with a beautiful garden. our daffodils have died back should we now group the leaves together & tie them in a knot or cut them back?
hello! I am new to gardening and have started off with basics that give colour to the garden, but the garden is overrun by ivy - in the flower beds, patio - everywhere. How can I get rid of this?
Also, what do I do with pansies when the heads begin to droop? Do I dehead or cut at the bottom of the stalks
24/11/2011 at 15:28
hi, I would try and dig out some of your ivy making sure you get as much of the roots as poss. If you've got room plant a hydrangea, they love wet soil and mine is in full bloom at the mo and looks gorgeous. Also petunias are lovely and really easy to look after, when the flower head starts to die off just pick it off and this will prolong the flowers. good luck and Enjoy! I need help pruning my lupins so any advice welcome.....
24/11/2011 at 15:29
how to prune camelias
24/11/2011 at 15:29
Brilliant advice.
08/07/2012 at 11:41

when lupins have finished flowering should I cut the whole plant to the groun or just cut off all the dead flowers?

08/07/2012 at 11:44
heathurner wrote (see)

when lupins have finished flowering should I cut the whole plant to the groun or just cut off all the dead flowers?

Just remove the flowering stems-not only may they flower again this year the plant needs the leaves to build up flowering potential for next year

It will start to die down naturally later in the year- then you can tidy it up

03/02/2014 at 09:58