London (change)
Today 10°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 11°C
1 to 20 of 30 messages
24/11/2011 at 15:29
I can also recommend using rhubarb leaves either on their own or in with comfrey leaves to make an excellent natural and free fertilizer - again the smell is horrendous and almost makes me retch but the effect on plants is remarkable.

The rhubarb soup also has the added benefit of scaring off a number of bugs (probably the smell!).

I make mine in an old dustbin with lid which I found in a skip.
24/11/2011 at 15:29
I've been making Comfrey fertilizer for a couple of years by soaking the leaves in a large plastic pelleted chicken manure container.
I have not found it neccessary to put any weight on top of the leaves but a tight fitting lid is essential to contain the bad smell.
I have calculated the volume required to mix with a 2 gall. watering can and cut the sides of an old tin down so that it just holds that amount. This is attached to a stick so that I can dip out the correct amount every time.
06/12/2011 at 11:45
What are the acual values of Comfrey liquid manure?
23/01/2012 at 10:27

Has anyone analysed the NPK ? If so what does it show.

16/06/2013 at 09:21
Can you use green alkanet if you dont have comfrey in your garden as I have an abundance of it?
16/06/2013 at 09:38
from garden organic website-- "Comfrey

There has been much written about the humble Comfrey plant over the years by people with differing opinions. Some see it as a rampant weed others as a decorative addition to the flower border. For the organic gardener it is the most valuable non-food plant available and one that EVERY gardener should grow.

There are many ways to use comfrey; as a mulch, compost accelerator, as a high nutrient compost ingredient, as a ‘tea’ or as liquid plant food. More on this later but before we get down to practicalities it might be useful to know something of the history of how Comfrey came to be recognised as a star of the organic garden.