Forum home Talkback
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Talkback: Overwintering chillies

I live in the southern hemisphere and winter is not that harsh, still it rains a lot and temperatures are on the one digit. I left Jalapenos in the green house, an harvested them in August, some were really small, but still they were good. In the e end the plants were rotting because of the humidity. I will do the same this year.

• am trying this year to over winter my dorset naga and scotch bonnet plants, not going to hold my breath though!! the main problem ive had this year with my chillies is aphids and have had very littel success in controlling them, would be grateful for any help on this matter
  • I've been growing many chilies for the last five years or so, only last year I tried overwintering them (I wanted to experiment). I brought them in on the windowsill but the house was invaded by aphids, literally (lots of them flying around and sticky substances around the window). I managed to control them to some degree by giving them a jet of water in the shower, but after about two months of doing this, I'm starting to wonder if it was worth it. Those I left in the conservatory didn't make it, but the ones in the house on the windowsill was ok. In late winter, I gave them a drastic cut until about 20 cm of the soil level. They grew back very well, but now at the end of the season I also find their fruits are not as big as those I started from seed this year, though there are as many of them. So, I think the conclusion of my experiment is it's not worth the effort of trying to keep control of the aphids for the whole winter. On the other hand, lots of the fruits are still green until now so I don't really want to kill them yet. I have one more experiment I want to do: overwinter them, and in late spring give them a hair cut and root cut, then re-plant in new compost. Maybe then I'l