London (change)
Today 15°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 17°C / 7°C
1 to 20 of 21 messages
28/03/2009 at 20:19
I'm with you on planting the spuds. Like yours, mine are already in. They are well mounded, with no growth above ground so should be well protected from frosts. Any danger of late frosts, once growth is well underway, is easily dealt with by protecting with fleece.
29/03/2009 at 09:56
I've had my second earlies in a couple of weeks - there's no sign of them popping their heads through yet so I guess they weren't too bothered by last night's ground frost. The maincrop are going in today. I figure the sooner they are in , the bigger they'll be by the time the blasted blight arrives. Ian
30/03/2009 at 07:20
I had planned to plant mine this weekend (Charlottes) but decided that the risk of frost was too great. I'm in the North East of Scotland, and I'm also a novice, so wouldn't want to lose my first crop. Hopefully next weekend.
30/03/2009 at 15:40
I could do with a spot of advice please! I have never had a veg plot before, this is my first. I have read that you shouldn't add manure to beds for root veg, does this apply to spuds?
30/03/2009 at 18:13
I'm in Nottingham and plant all potatoes in bags these days as ground space too precious, and I have inherited lots of concreted areas!Got my earlies,Aran Pilot & Dunluce,in a couple of weeks ago.2nd early Anya went in on 28thMarch, but I am holding off on the Main crop Sapro Mira for a couple of weeksas chitting not so advanced on them and it is rather cold.
31/03/2009 at 19:45
I,M IN S. WALES AND MY EARLIES INTERNATIONAL KIDNEY AND RED DUKE OF YORK WENT IN ON 16TH MARCH. SECOND EARLIES NADINE AND OSPREY WENT IN TODAY 31ST MARCH.
02/04/2009 at 10:32
The best manure is Cow manure and has a much better aroma. Get your potatoes in now and water well throughout the summer as it is going to be a very hot summer.A bit of cow manure is a great asset to potatoe growth.
02/04/2009 at 19:57