London (change)
Today 17°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 9°C
11 messages
17/06/2009 at 14:57
My poppies are wonderful too.It is their 2nd year.I threw a packet of mixed wild seeds last year and up they came. However they are so big this year I would really like to move them. What do you think? I will collect the seeds this year though,but what about the original plants,can I move them?
18/06/2009 at 17:34
I have poppies in my garden but they have not opened up yet. This is my first time of growing them. (my children did).
18/06/2009 at 22:42
I was given some poppy seeds 2 years ago. They flowered into a large mass and were wonderful, but last year there was nothing... no poppies, but this year they have appeared again, but in several places that I didnt sow seeds... is it usual for them to miss a year ????
19/06/2009 at 20:36
maureenmay, perhaps conditions were not just quite right to produce plants in time for last year? Now you have them self sown, they will continue year after year I imagine. I love my poppies but don't like the leaves after they finish flowering. Just read a blog by www.gardeningbloggers/theruralgardener called 'we all need a little support at times' in which she said to cut off the leaves and hide the gaps with the right plants, I am trying to do this now.
19/06/2009 at 20:41
oh, above web site should have ended /theruralgardener sorry!
21/06/2009 at 10:15
I have never successfully moved annual poppies, they REALLY don't like their roots disturbed. I understand that poppy seeds can lie dormant in the soil for up to 10 years, and germinate best in disturbed soil, so where I have weeded they pop up, where I "forget" they don't....
21/06/2009 at 22:07