London (change)
Today 25°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 16°C
17 messages
21/05/2009 at 16:25
Flowering can sap plants of their strength, so always cut away flower stems at their base as soon as they develop. You don't want rhubarb wasting energy on forming flowers. Keep watering clumps with a liquid feed to encourage new growth. If teh clump does appear weak then it may need lifting and dividing next winter, replanting into soil enriched with compost to help reinvigorate growth.
22/05/2009 at 10:53
I am new to gardening and have just stumbled across this site!! its a wealth of knowledge cheers!!
22/05/2009 at 14:18
Wonder if Roseyskeff is from the north east? Everyone around me (including me)has had a megga problem in trying to keep their rhubarb from producing masses fo flower! Having said that, the blossom count on everything, especially the Hawthorns have been marvellous. Suppose it is the standard excuse.. global warming!!!
22/05/2009 at 19:29
I recently got a rhubarb plant not sure how old but as lots of big leaves and small stems can anyone advice me on how to grow it and when it is ready for stems to harvest please. Iam new to this fruit un veg growing i live in the north west.
23/05/2009 at 11:14
I had some rhubarb plants on the allotment that I took over 18 months ago. Is there a time when you stop picking it as it seems to be going on all the year round. By the way I have 3 gallons of rhubarb wine bubbling away as I type and I have found some stewed rhubarb with a dash of port mixed in makes a great accompanyment for roast duck.
23/05/2009 at 12:43
beware of burying your rhubarb too deeply. My husband got carried away with the mulching this year, and our rhubarb is ailing. Have unearthed them again, so fingers crossed they make a full recovery as I'd love to try the rhubarb and port recipe!
01/06/2009 at 17:01