London (change)
Today 23°C / 17°C
Tomorrow 21°C / 14°C
15 messages
26/02/2008 at 13:07
There are several very intersting books on the subject of moon-planting or lunar gardening, it is soemthing wholeheartedly done by authors such as Nick Kollerstrom, but of course as the dates v phases cary each year you need to buy the book annually. It is certainly worth a try and many swear by it.
26/02/2008 at 13:36
I am a manager of supported housing for people with mental health issues and we would like to start a vege patch out the back of the property. We really do not know where to start e.g. what veges do we plant at what times of the year? The garden will be ready to sow this week, and we would like to get the seeds/seedlings within the next week or so. The service users are very much looking forward to getting involved, but we need a starting poit. Hope you can help?
28/02/2008 at 21:15
Things to plant now are broad beans and peas (but not mangetout yet). Also beetroot, parsnip and early carrot varieties can go in now. Shallots, onions sets and garlic can go in now (last chance now for garlic as normally they go in in the spring). Dig a trench and fill it with newspaper torn up, and veg peelings and then cover over ready for runner bean plants to be planted when the frost has gone (end of may roughly depending on where you are in the country) another one for after the frost but easy is courgette plants, big seed, easy to grow lots of veg.

Tomatoes need sowing now indoors ready for later and salad crops easy for a bit later. If you want easy fruit then think of strawberries and rhubarb? Hope this helps but I am sure someone else will give you some ideas as well...

29/02/2008 at 17:50
I would highly recommend growing oriental vegetables. They are all 'cut and come again', and the flavour is good.