London (change)
Today 13°C / 4°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 7°C
17 messages
26/02/2010 at 10:28
Too cold to even contemplate seeds! Monty's video on planting courgettes is all well and good but Lancashire is still in deepest winter - roll on some sunshine.
26/02/2010 at 11:54
Can anyone help - I have just planted onion seeds in a heated propogater and can find no guidance on when to take the plastic top off. Do you take the top off as soon as the seed has germinated and starts to show signs of growth or do you leave the top on until the seeds have grown 2-3 inches or so. I have never done this before and confess to being completely befuddled.
26/02/2010 at 12:53
That's very funny and so so true. I've gone one better, it's the window ledge for me, I like to watch my seeds grow from the warmth of the kitchen. Enjoy!
26/02/2010 at 15:16
Can anyone please help and tell me how to prune blueberry bushes. I haven't found any info anywhere. Thanks.
26/02/2010 at 16:57
Like Pippa I am cheering myself up by sowing seeds in the greenhouse, warmest place to be. I've sown onion seeds, aubergines, bacopa, tomatoes and dahlias all in propagator. Dahlias already sprouting but I usually leave onions until they are aroung 3/4 inches. Don't know if that is correct but it works for me Lesley, then put out into the greenhouse. 2 degrees here today in freezing Scotland.
27/02/2010 at 10:31
I would be a nice addition, to Pippas article on sowing seeds, to show what can go wrong, what things look like and importantly how to corrct them
01/03/2010 at 16:15
The winter has gone on too long. By the time it is warm enough to plant sunflowers, they won't have time to grow erectly and fully.
02/03/2010 at 19:55