London (change)
Today 21°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
1 to 20 of 24 messages
06/05/2008 at 19:48
Can you please tell me this - i know this is probably a stupid question - i know its a good idea to cover carrots with either a plastic run or use fine garden mesh. I though you were not supposed to then disturb these physical barriers or the carrot fly would detect it asap. How though do you water the carrots that are beneath the barrier. Is it just a case of simply taking it off really quickly watering and then just replacing it - or am i missing something v obvious??
07/05/2008 at 14:51
Hi I'm new to gardening, but I'm going to have a go at growing my own veg. My question is I want to give the soil a boost what should I dig with it, to give it & the veg I want to grow a kick start?
07/05/2008 at 18:38
Hi Jean, you can improve your soil for growing vegetables by adding compost and well-rotted manure to it every year. For a quick fix for this year, try adding comfrey pellets to each planting hole before you pop your vegetable plants in. You can also add an organic fertiliser, such as seaweed, to your watering can to water the plants with, which will improve the plants' uptake of nutrients without damaging the soil's structure. Good luck, Kate.
07/05/2008 at 22:04
I planted my peas nearly three weeks ago and there is still no sign of anything coming through, should I start again with a new set?
10/05/2008 at 08:28
I built my raised beds in Feb' and had cabbage, runners and broad beans in them by March. I also have small pumpkin, courgette and even melon plants out and doing great. I constantly feel as if I'm behind but every time I read the blogs I feel good as it seams I'm ahead. WooHooo!
10/05/2008 at 15:44
I'm doing my Beaver Scout Bronze Award and wanted to plant my own vegetable garden. The seeds are growing but keep falling over. They look really skinny and weedy. Can you help me please. They are in plug pots at the moment. Thank you
13/05/2008 at 14:42