1 to 20 of 25 messages
25/01/2009 at 21:07
I absolutely agree with this, but has anyone any ideas on the best way to get rid of a 6 metre high wall of 25 trees running round my garden?
30/01/2009 at 21:25
Is it possible to find a use for shredded leylandi clippings? I am fairly new to owning an allotment and wondered if they could be used for paths, filling in holes - I have a few of those - or even be composted. Perhaps they can be used to make ericaceous compost?
02/02/2009 at 11:33
I'm afraid, Mr Murraymint, the only way is with chainsaw, stumpgrinder and (sadly) chequebook! Shredded leylandii will eventually compost down. I have used them for paths before and they are fine but not at robust as woodchips.
02/02/2009 at 20:28
My elderly mum has a Leyland cypress hedge that has become too tall and too wide. She is getting complaints from a neighbour and so from the council, which worries her greatly. I have noticed that some similar species sprout new growth vigorously from their bases when cut back to a bare stump. Could this be a cheap way to restart a more reasonably sized hedge, which will grow outwards rapidly to fill holes, and which has a 5ft height marker (the stump) to help keep the height down? Or will the whole thing just die?
06/02/2009 at 18:05