London (change)
Today 21°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
20 messages
27/06/2014 at 23:14

OK Orchid Lady. Mike is a man of his word.  Should the book ever get written and published.  You sweet lady will receive a first edition. Signed copy.

Now then.  My outline is for the book to be different of course to any other gardening book. I recently asked on the forum, if any members might decline to be mentioned.  I want this book to be a living thing, not some stuffy old relic from the past.  I have addmitted that I can be something of a renegade. Often diversing from the, 'Experts'.  I don't wish to give away too much here and now.  However in the lite of what I consider  a recent criticism. My profession training ony consisted of my groundsmans course. That was supplied via UCL at their grounds at Motspur Park.  Surrey.  There I learned the lot and gained my certs.  My gaining a first in horticulture. I was self taught.  My various Fellowships etc. Came at a price.  Hard constant study and learning, and to have letters after my name.  A gross annual subscription.  Now at the age of 75, I have been addmitted to the plant Pathologist organisation.  Once again pay out time. For the benefit of members who might have an assortment of ideas about me.  During my working days. The salary was crap.  For shopping, Val and I had around eighteen bob a week to keep house and body on.  Might I say.  Any commenters who believe we old uns had a better deal.  COBBLERS.  Had these present day opportunities been around, I would have by now been a Prof; Believe me. Throughout my life. I have worked 'B' hard.  I wish to continue learning and to impart knowledge to others.

27/06/2014 at 23:34

I enjoy reading your posts and have learnt a lot from them, not only about gardening but about all manner of things. Some people have nothing better to do than criticize others. No matter how experience has been gained, it is worth much more if it is passed on.