London (change)
Today 18°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 19°C / 13°C
8 messages
03/03/2013 at 15:43

Two years ago I bought a robin nesting box, the sort which have quite a large front opening. The Dunnocks decided to use it to raise a family in. Alas the Magpie soon spotted the nestlings and had the lot. Now the Dunnocks usually raised  their family in the honeysuckle and as far as I'm aware, this was successful. No bird has used the nesting box since and I am beginning to think that hedges and thick shrubs are less conspicuous than some types of nesting boxes. What are the experiences of others?

03/03/2013 at 15:53

I have no personal experience, such as you describe.

However, birds are normally careful about where they nest. If a bird thinks a site might be unsafe and open to predators, then a sensible bird would not nest there.

Perhaps your box would have been more successful if it had been placed deeper into the honeysuckle.

Robins like an open nest but they usually like it concealed, out of the way somewhere.

03/03/2013 at 16:13

The nesting box wasn't in the honeysuckle but attached to my shed and hidden behind a holly tree.  Not hidden enough obviously!   My bluetit nesting box is more of a success but then it has only a small opening at the front.

03/03/2013 at 16:13

I've (sorry, We've) put up tit boxes in this garden and they're being inspected 

but we're not going to put up the open-fronted type until we've got plenty of cover to put them behind - we're planting honeysuckle, clematis, rambling and climbing roses as well as other climbers to give the birds plenty of cover, then we'll put the nest boxes on the fence behind thick tangles of creeper and fire water pistols at the cats and magpies 

05/03/2013 at 16:11