1 to 20 of 60 messages
Edd
27/02/2014 at 14:33

Well i have been requested to start a Vermicomposting thread so hear it is.

I was not sure where to start so i thought i would start at the end and work back (believe me this will make sense).

Here is what you are all after 'BLACK GOLD'. Fresh today!

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/38440.jpg?width=350

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/38441.jpg?width=350

OHH. Can you see egg shell in there? (not the fine stuff we are now producing, on other threads. Just the remnants of  whole egg shells put in the compost.)

Just to the right edge in the middle is a worm egg. They look like little lemons with only one nobble at one end and they do turn darker. The cycle continues!

I have been doing this for about 10 years in different locations. and at the moment have a big bin in the back yard (concrete base) a stacking system in the cold outside garage (recycle green box, that has beem modified) and a small mushroom box bin that i keep in the kitchen. This is more to keep the temp constant and produce more worm eggs. (more worms!) they are self regulating though so do not worry.

I will take photos of all the bins and tell you about the process but until i know where anyone would like to start or if other people are interested then i will just, sit and wait for a question. 

Kind regards

Edd

27/02/2014 at 14:39

Have dozens of Q Edd, but hope your telling of the process/photos will answer them! Can't wait, go for it!

27/02/2014 at 14:45

You might get more replies if you post in the right bit. I'm only here because it's a slow work day.

27/02/2014 at 14:47

Hi Edd, very interested I currently use an old barrel for compost but it's not very effective as I can't turn it or anything, do you know any ways I could improve it, I have a tiny cottage style garden and don't really want a huge plastic composter.