London (change)
Today 13°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 14°C
1 to 20 of 29 messages
27/08/2014 at 08:58

Not sure if anyone out there on the forum has any views/ experiance on this one.

We took our dog for his booster injection.the vet looked at his teath an d suggested we bring him to have them cleaned.he weighs 50 lb .the vet says he would have to have a blood test first to check his liver and kidneys are alright.they would have to put him to sleep and keep him overnight.my dog is 12 years old.

27/08/2014 at 09:03

Did he say why Cangran? That does seem a bit drastic I must admit, but I'm not an expert. We do have a vet on the forum so maybe if he sees this he could give some info.

I would phone the vet this morning and ask more questions, get to the bottom of why these tests and the teeth cleaning are needed, just to make sure they aren't trying ti make money out of you (I'm not sceptical at all )

Hope you get it sorted and your dog is ok.

27/08/2014 at 09:13
The dog we lost last year had plaque below the gum line which meant her gums bled if she ate anything hard, the vet said he could take her in and clean them but he also said its not life threatening and if ahe isnt bothered then its probably best to leave her alone.
Your vet might want to do bloods prior to an anestetic just as best practise.

If your dog is ok, then in my opinion, i wouldnt bother, i think the risk out weighs the benefit
27/08/2014 at 09:17

Cleaning an older dog's teeth is not uncommon - like with humans, if tartar has built up it can cause inflamed gums and the loss of teeth which will in turn cause other problems.

It's not a cheap treatment however - your vet should give you an idea of the cost before going ahead.

There's some info here http://www.purina.co.uk/content/your-dog/helping-to-keep-your-dog-healthy/regular-dog-care/looking-after-your-dog%27s-teeth

27/08/2014 at 09:30