Forum home The potting shed
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Growing Roses

The rose (according to a survey I have read) is reckoned to be the nations favourite flower (followed by the sweet pea). So I thought perhaps it should have a place where the growing of them can be discussed.

This is the climber 'Leaping Salmon'......growing up & over my pergola.  

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c186/DavidKnapper/DSCN0309.jpg

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 24,032

Do you want photos, or discussions on how to grow roses, or both?

Does anyone know how old climbing roses live to? Some of mine are about 22 years old and getting quite woody.

Dordogne and Norfolk. Clay in Dordogne, sandy in Norfolk.
  • yarrow2yarrow2 Posts: 782

Great idea for the topic thread.  I have little experience with roses, would love to have more but due to my uncertainty of how to best care for them, I've limited myself in the past to buying cheaply from DIY centres - and this for me has been disappointing. e.g. last year I set out to purchase 2 white roses, highly scented.  And there were two roses labelled 'white' and 'highly fragranced'.  I eagerly planted both.  They were both pink.  Had no fragrance whatsoever and the stems after early spring pruning are extremely thin and cannot support the flowers when they bloom.  In this instance, I feel the labelling was careless and obviously wrong.  Could have happened when bulk supplies of roses were being moved around, or perhaps were labelled incorrectly by the supplier.  In any case, it put me of spending any more money on cheapies.