Forum home The potting shed
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Hayfever and gardening as a career

Greetings fellow gardeners, and fellow hayfever sufferers! I've come here with a question I haven't dared ask because I was afraid to hear the answer. But I have to know eventually, especially since I want a career in gardening.

As you already guessed I suffer from hayfever. Specifically from grass pollen which affects me late spring. This year it was from the end of May till mid July and this is the typical length it affects me for. For me the symptoms are not crippling, just average with the usual symptoms of runny nose, sneezing, and eye irritation.

When I saw gardening as career I mean planting, raising seeds, the usual stuff we do.

So guys, what's your opinion? image

• bulkerbbulkerb Posts: 258

Hi Ruby leaf I work as a gardener full time and suffer from hay fever how ever I get tablets prescribed from the doctors 1 tablet each morning and away I go grass cutting planting weeding chain saw work etc.

I even help my friend with the harvest and never get problems the stuff you get from the chemist for me don't work I have stopped taking them now but will look the name up later today for you. also if you want any advice that I can help you with then please P . M me God bless lester