Forum home The potting shed
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Helping out

A few weeks back there was a post on here about someone trying to get help in the garden for their father, so he could stay in his house.

It got me thinking this must be an issue for a lot of older people who struggle to bend and weed the beds.

I'm wondering whether to offer to help some older local people in their gardens, put a flyer through their door, speak to some friends and see if I can help. 

I'm no expert, just love my garden and would like to help people with their garden with the jobs that these garden maintenance people don't do.  (drives me mad when people have 'gardeners' round and yet the beds are still full of weeds.)

If I was to offer to help and maybe ask for a minimal fee, would I then need any sort of insurance.

Do you have any advice with this.  not sure if it will work, I'd just like to do some sort of paid work and this is something I could really enjoy.

I'm not looking, nor could I afford to do a full on training course, so it would be more of a learn from the older generation as well.  Has to be a win win situation doesn't it ?

What do you think ?

Any advice gratefully recieved. Thank you.

• Joyce21Joyce21 Posts: 15,489

Peanuts, I think it's an excellent idea.  The chap who does my grass gives me an occasional hand with pruning and weeding.  He is not a "gardener" but has his own garden and enjoys working in gardens.

SW Scotland
  • hogweedhogweed Posts: 4,053

About 10 years ago I used to do jobbing gardening for three old people. For two of them it was just weeding and hoeing, in the third I cut the grass weeded, cut back shrubs etc. All for £5 per hour. I just got the jobs through word of mouth.

if there is a local old folks welfare club or luncheon club it may be worth while paying it a visit with some flyers(BIG writing!).