London (change)
Today 18°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 15°C
15 messages
28/06/2013 at 10:24
morning all,right now this might not sound like a question for G?W BUT im going to have for the first time a nice load of fruit this year to make preserves and jams and such, i know i could learn to do it the old way and will if that turns out to be the best way to do it, but has anyone ever used one of these electric jam makers if so honest opinions please and any advise or tricks of the trade would be good too,my first time on the fruit making scene so need all the help i can get avagooden Alan4711
28/06/2013 at 10:35

I have never heard of an electric jam maker, but it is so easy and quite quick to do and such a labour of love.

I am no expert and only do a few pots a year so someone may give much better advice

I simmer fruit, but not for too long as I like chunky jam, add same weight of normal granulated sugar and juice of a lemon. Sometimes if I am feeling posh I use preserving sugar. Simmer and stir gently until sugar not crunchy under wooden spoon and then blast with heat and boil. When it passes the finger test its done and avoiding third degree burns pour into clean jars. 

Finger test...put blob of jam onto cold plate and push with finger, after blowing on it, if it wrinkles its done. 

Apologies if I have insulted your intelligence with the above, but that is how I do jam. 

28/06/2013 at 11:14

I don't think they add anything extra to what a large pan on the stove will do. Another gadget to use once and then lie at the back of the kitchen cupboard.

I have a big copper jam pan I bought  cheap in a supermarket in france.

My mum always uses an old aluminium maslin pan with a big handle on, a bit like a flattened out bucket.