Forum home The potting shed
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Minimum temperature for a frost-free greenhouse

As the nights are getting frosty and I am having to heat the greenhouse to protect the tender plants: what is the minimum temperature you let a frost-free greenhouse drop to?

The RHS in its encyclopaedia gives 2 degrees Celsius (strikes me as too low). Monty has mentioned 5 degrees celsius in the past...

For context: dahlia tubers are stored in compost in wine crates, cannas are potted, ensete is dry-stored. I am just glad I haven't splashed out on a plumeria and having to look after that, as well...

• Flo7Flo7 Posts: 33

Thanks for the reply!

I'm new to the greenhouse world, and have to admit that I have underestimated the importance of insulation. I only have a paraffin heater, so the scope for raising the temperature is not vast. Bubble wrap is ordered, though, and I am going to use the coming days - which are forecast to be milder - to get the greenhouse ready for the coldest months. 

• PosyPosy Posts: 3,601

Most people seem to suggest 4 to 5 degrees. The key plants are your half hardies, like Canna. They don't forgive mistakes. If you have electricity in the greenhouse it is worth getting a little heater that is more controllable and less wet.

• PalaisglidePalaisglide Posts: 3,414