London (change)
Today 7°C / 2°C
Tomorrow 8°C / 7°C
10 messages
10/09/2013 at 10:58

Hi everyone, I am new to both this forum and really the gardening world.  I am 27 years old and have this deep need to get my head into gardening.

My mum passed away only 7 weeks ago and this has left a humongous hole in my life. My mum was wonderful and she LOVED gardening she used to say there is nothing better than fancying a salad for dinner and going into the garden to pick it 

Its her sudden and expected passing that has got me wanting to "learn" how to become more green fingered.

My first step is organisation! I currently have seeds coming out of my ears!!! Can I please ask how you organise yours - I mean this in terms of if you file them and organise them according to

a) the time of year they are sewn

b) type of plant

etc, etc

many thanks 

Amy

10/09/2013 at 11:46

Hi 20Lili02, so  sorry to hear about your loss!

After years of having all my seed packets all mixed up in one box, I finally sat down the other day to sort them. First I sorted them into two shoe cartons, cut and sellotaped to fit the largest packet, one for veggie seeds, the other for flowers. I then sorted them by sowing dates, the earliest in the front. Will have to check them regularly so I don't miss the correct times though!

Others may have much better ideas, will be watching this thread

10/09/2013 at 11:51

Hi Amy, I'm probably not the best person to ask as I keep all of mine in a large metal old biscit tin and then just have a root around in there at different types of the year!

If I were ever to get organised (highly unlikely) I would probably divide my seeds into annuals/perennials/biennuals as on the whole these are sown at different types of the year. Only started doing any edible stuff this year. I do a little bit of seed collecting and keep those in those small money envelopes