Forum home The potting shed
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Thank you so much

Hello everyone I'm Lisa and I am new around here, I was made redundant a month ago and can't thank you all for helping me through some rubbish days.

I live in Nottinghamshire and we have an average sized garden and we are luck enough to live near a country park so lots of wildlife and I enjoy feeding and watching the many birds.

I am a novice gardener but watch GW and have done for many years but never had much of garden to tend to until we moved here 3 years ago.

I have learnt so much already from you all from recipes to planting techniques to what you want for christmas and its been great fun and brightened my days

Nice to meet you all and thank you again image

• punkdocpunkdoc Posts: 15,039

As a newbie myself, your post really echoes with me. Also yours and many other posts talk of how much we all enjoy reading what others write. It also strikes me that many of the posts make me think how nice the people who write them seem to be. I read somewhere that gardeners are nice people and that it has something to do with how closely we work with nature and how this gives us some sort of understanding.

I have a long history of depression and I am aware how much gardening has helped me to get better, partly through the exercise and fresh air but mainly I think from a healing effect of contact with the soil and the cycle of life and death and the seasons.

I hope this doesnt sound like some kind of new age "hippyism", as I can assure readers that I am far removed from that.

How can you lie there and think of England
    When you don't even know who's in the team

S.Yorkshire/Derbyshire border
  • Matty2Matty2 Posts: 4,817

You can join in all the posts you know.  New ideas etc are always welcome. Helps you to shake off the cobwebs image

• LynLyn Posts: 23,190