I too received a mail shot from this firm - which I had not previously heard about. A quick search of company and director information confirms that this is a very new business with directors who specialise in direct marketing.
I called them to ask where they recieived my name from and was told they had bought in lists of people who had ordered plug plants over the last few years. I pointed out the I always indicated that I did not want to recieve material from associated companies (not sure who Canny Gardener could be associated with) and that I was also registered on the Mail Preference service.
I said that I would be in touch with the MD directly and then I found this thread which he has apparently contributed to; STEP SOLUTIONS who own thecannygardener.com site name must have purchased this name list or bought it with them from a previous employer and, without knowing a lot more about the track record of the individuals, I will not be ordering from them.
I do object to this aggressive buying of lists of names.
Colin Bb