London (change)
Today 20°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 19°C / 14°C
1 to 20 of 24 messages
12/10/2013 at 13:20

Sitting here on a horrible wet day, so am looking through the seed catalogues and I wondered what new seeds forumers were going to grow next year. I must say a piece of cake would help the decision making. Nevermind spicy meatballs for tea and a warming bottle of red

12/10/2013 at 14:08

I had decided I wouldn't grow so many plants from seed next year. There's still hundreds waiting to be planted now. But then the seed swap comes round and off I go again. I've already started and there are seedlings. Digitalis grandiflora and a white mallow, both up. Several other sown.

Now I think I'll have a look at a few seed companies. Plant World seeds,  Derry Watkins,  Chiltern. That will do for a start. 

12/10/2013 at 14:32

I've been buying seed for about 3 months now and they are all stored in the garage fridge I must get them out and have a look at what I’ve got

I did collect some from my Dahlia so that will be exciting just to see what colour they come out at

James

12/10/2013 at 14:38

Pd - I'll be round later with a cake 

Foxgloves for me I think. And more veg possibly.

12/10/2013 at 14:42

Have a look James, you may have got some that need sowing now

12/10/2013 at 22:47

I normally buy plug bedding plants from a mail order firm but next year I thought I'd grow more from seed. I was in the big garden centre in Newhaven in September and bought lots, including the Ladybird poppies we'd seen when we visited Great Dixter in June. They looked stunning. Bought mustard and cress too as they don't sell it in France then I gave it to my grandson last weekend. Must get some more in November when we go back to the UK.

We had steak Diane (very 70s! yum) and a warming bottle of red. Rained all day.

12/10/2013 at 22:56
Cleome - they look fab, and i had no idea you could grow them from seed. And some more lupins - never liked them before, but am now a convert