Forum home The potting shed
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

What to do now?

Hey all, So I'm new to gardening and this website alike, and started putting real effort into my first garden this year (I've lived in my house for 8 years but as I near 30 I've discovered the gardening bug and recently hard landscaped my garden) I've put a lot of effort in this year with bulbs flower beds getting soil ready and all manor of things, however I find myself at a loss now the cold has hit. Am I missing something important? I'm going out when it's not raining and keeping on top of the weeds that pop up but am feeling quite lost now, I'm looking forward to spring so I can see how my hard work turns out. What do all of you do at this time of year when the garden is sleeping so to speak? Peroxiss.

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 24,023

We look at gardening catalogues and plan for next spring!

Dordogne and Norfolk. Clay in Dordogne, sandy in Norfolk.
  • LynLyn Posts: 23,190

Hello Peroxiss, welcome to the site

I use this couple of months to have a little rest from the hard stuff. I have plants in the greenhouse, seedlings, so sometimes I will pot some on, check for any dead leaves, general tidy up. I had a pond this year, so I like to take a stroll down to see that, there is a chair down there, so can just sit. Its nice to just go out and do nothing.

The garden, now I have almost finished mulching, will get left, the frosts or snow will stop the weeds growing, they will be back with a vengance in the Spring, so not worth bothering now.

After Christmas, I will get all my seeds out, put them in sowing order, that will start in Feb. Thats about it I think, take it easy now, you will be double busy in the Spring with seeds, cuttings, dividing etc.

Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

• granmagranma Posts: 1,933