London (change)
Today 17°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 11°C
9 messages
24/02/2014 at 11:49

Morning all from erein Sunny Norfolk, its a cracker of a day, right iv just come from the rhubarb topic which as often does turned to booze, knowing u lot i was,nt a bit surprised, now im following so i can decide which rhubarb to start as we hav,nt any at all, so following that one and probly get some at weekend,with a thought to crumble and wine maybe,now do you think we could have a wine making topic for the complete beginner by people who have actually done it not a book but real peoples recipes like Dove put up , i personally will need cider as weve planted 5 new deserts and a cooker,a plum and rhubarb should be ok in 2 to 3 years i hope any recipes and advise will be really welcome wotuthink  Alan

24/02/2014 at 15:17

A photo gallery of my cider making here http://sussexhill.net/Events/Making_Cider/index.html I made 10 gallons this year.

I also made a gallon of wine from my greenhouse grapes (probably Black Hamburgh) with a few bunches from my new Seyval Blanc vines intended for outdoor planting thrown in for good measure. I made just two bottles the year before from a couple of Chardonnay vines, recognisable but just a little bit sharp.

24/02/2014 at 19:24

I can give you Pear, Quince and Damson wine recipes if anyone is interested (there is a fair bit of typing involved; so only if you really are interested)

25/02/2014 at 10:31

Steephill iv saved that one thanks very much for that ,the cider really is simple,

Artjak, many thanks for the offer Pear would be really good,im open for the messages in my settings if you prefer many thanks matey. 

25/02/2014 at 11:11

oooh I didn't notice this thread before.