London (change)
Today 18°C / 6°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 3°C
1 to 20 of 24 messages
14/05/2013 at 20:58

Dear All, We have five lavender bushes all about four years old. I deadhead and use the flowers daily and the bushes flower all year round (we are in the middle of the Atlantic Rainforest outside Rio). After temps of up to 40deg and torrential rains they are mostly brown and grey and toppling over after the weight of the rain (and bad drainage-system on the house). Any advice or is all lost? They are very dear to me and my grandmother back in England! Many thanks. ps i don't know how to attach a pic as i am new to this. Happy gardening!

14/05/2013 at 22:20

Lavender likes hot dry conditions with sharp drainage so it sounds as if your plants are struggling with the wet. What can you do to improve the drainage? If there are any live plants you could take some cuttings as an insurance policy should you lose any plants. My lavenders also seed readily ... have you any seeds or seedlings at the base of the plants, which you could pot up and bring on for the future. Your climate is so different from ours that it is difficult to know what to do. Good luck with them.

14/05/2013 at 22:42

Thanks WW. I think you are right re. the water.The house drainage is a major problem to be fixed one fine day!!! I will endeavour to take cuttings this weekend, do you know what soil mix is the best as when i tried before none of them sprouted roots. The climate here and the Ps&Ds that come with it are a challenge but part of the life long lessons i guess. Thanks again and Happy Gardening! 

14/05/2013 at 22:59