Forum home Tools and techniques
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

compost bin on stone flags

Hi,

I am a complete novice at all things gardening but would like to do my bit for the struggling bee/butterfly population.

I am not working due to long term ME/CFS problems so money and energy are both in short supply.

Growing veg though desirable is not really practical given the long periods of time i am confined to bed. ( often for weeks at a time )

I have a small front garden 3.20m x 2.10m recently populated with bee friendly, easy sown flowers. I will need advise on this later.

I have a rear yard paved with flags and currently hosting a number of pots and containers, also populated with recently sown bee/butterfly wildflowers. I am after some advice on the setting up of a compost bin on my paved back yard.

I was thinking of purchasing a 220litre plastic compost bin( 740 x 740 x 900 ) and siting it on a raised bed.I was going for this option as my health issues need a composting system that is cheap and energy/time lite.I was thinking of using the following to build the bed.

http://www.travisperkins.co.uk/Sawn-Timber-Regularised-Treated-C16-47mm-x-200mm-x-4-2m/p/685327

I was going to build it 1m x 90cm. Is this large enough to host the plastic bin?

Do i need to put anything down to protect the newish Indian flags that have been laid? How do i prevent soil/excess water from leaching onto the flags?

What material should i use to form the base?

What else do i need to consider?

I am also looking at setting up some raised beds for growing bee/butterfly friendly flowers some time in the near future so any advice on this is most appreciated.

I would also appreciate any spare materials for undertaking these projects.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Darrell

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 17,617