London (change)
Today 9°C / 4°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 9°C
6 messages
29/10/2012 at 18:25

Hi, I am currently studying Product Design and Technology at Loughborough University. I have just started my final year project and am looking at the 'value of water', with particular interest into how we reuse water within the garden. I am looking to gain insights into any problems that are experienced when using current water saving methods, for example water butts and rainwater harvesting devices. I would be interested to hear about any problems you may have in this ares and any improvements that could be made to current methods.

I have created an online survey and posted the link below. I would really appreciate it if you could take a few minutes and have a look through the survey and give your feedback. I would be really grateful for your time and any response you can give. 

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/88899F2

Thanks very much!

29/10/2012 at 20:09

one problem I had this year was mosquitoes and their larvae .I drained it twice but they came back.I cover the hole the water comes in as bumble bees were drowning in the butt.

30/10/2012 at 05:37

We save grey water from our shower to water the garden - I plan to attach a seep hose to the butt next summer for the runner beans.    Also, it would be good to know other people's experiences of using a water conditioner to prevent smelly sludge etc in a grey water butt.

17/11/2012 at 18:32

Harriet, what a brilliant project, this subject could well be the most important in future gardening. My only cavil about water butts (I have 4) is that the valve thingy on the down pipe from the gutter tends to just leak all over the ground when the butt is full; in other words the excess water is not going further down the pipe to the soak away. Some people say there are health and safety issues about using water butt water on veg. I am pretty ancient and from the age of 4 or 5 have eaten veg grown with this water source, with no probs.